The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Stringed Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-21-2018, 03:23 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,098
Default Help With Mandolin Body Noise

Hi all.

I have a JJB installed in my mandolin, and I suspect that one of the wires is now making contact with the back of the instrument. Whatever the cause, there's a ~100hz thuddy sound when I play it.

Before I bother my luthier with this, is there any way I can fix this on my own? Tape? Some of those 3M cable routing things?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2018, 04:50 PM
Rudy4 Rudy4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midwinter View Post
Hi all.

I have a JJB installed in my mandolin, and I suspect that one of the wires is now making contact with the back of the instrument. Whatever the cause, there's a ~100hz thuddy sound when I play it.

Before I bother my luthier with this, is there any way I can fix this on my own? Tape? Some of those 3M cable routing things?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Depends on how you installed it. If you have access to removing the jack you can tie a loose loop in the wire to take up slack. I put an acoustic feather in my F many years ago and was very careful with the installation. It's worked flawlessly for many years when amplification is required.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2018, 04:58 PM
Mandobart Mandobart is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,324
Default

Is it internal mount or external? I had a lot of noise with external mount K&K and JJB pu's using a carpenter jack. Once I went all internal the noise went away. I'm sure on some of my installs (I've done around 15 or so, internal mount) a wire is touching the back or soundboard, but no noise issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2018, 05:20 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,098
Default

Thanks, y'all.

It's internally mounted. Worked fine for a long time and then all of a sudden started with this weird body noise. I can't think of anything else it might be. I hugely prefer the sound of these JJBs on it to the Baggs mandolin pickup, which sounded super boxy to me, so I'm hoping this isn't an issue with the pickup. If I can't get this sorted, I may have to switch to an AT35 on it.

Last edited by midwinter; 01-21-2018 at 05:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2018, 07:13 PM
Rudy4 Rudy4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midwinter View Post
Thanks, y'all.

It's internally mounted. Worked fine for a long time and then all of a sudden started with this weird body noise. I can't think of anything else it might be. I hugely prefer the sound of these JJBs on it to the Baggs mandolin pickup, which sounded super boxy to me, so I'm hoping this isn't an issue with the pickup. If I can't get this sorted, I may have to switch to an AT35 on it.
My guess would be something came loose if you didn't notice anything initially when installed. If the transducer mounting material didn't retain the transducer in the same manner that might be the problem. Can you inspect it with a mirror through a sound hole?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2018, 09:12 PM
Mandobart Mandobart is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midwinter View Post
Thanks, y'all.

It's internally mounted. Worked fine for a long time and then all of a sudden started with this weird body noise. I can't think of anything else it might be. I hugely prefer the sound of these JJBs on it to the Baggs mandolin pickup, which sounded super boxy to me, so I'm hoping this isn't an issue with the pickup. If I can't get this sorted, I may have to switch to an AT35 on it.
I would take a look inside, but also do the most basic troubleshooting of substituting parts of the signal chain. Next time it happens be ready with spare cables, spare preamp, spare amp, etc. Even when these p'ups get loose they're not very noisy. I mount them with low tack putty and it holds for years.

Have you changed anything at all? Bridge, strings, bridge position?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2018, 09:23 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandobart View Post
I would take a look inside, but also do the most basic troubleshooting of substituting parts of the signal chain. Next time it happens be ready with spare cables, spare preamp, spare amp, etc. Even when these p'ups get loose they're not very noisy. I mount them with low tack putty and it holds for years.

Have you changed anything at all? Bridge, strings, bridge position?
Hi Mandobart. It happens every single time I play and nothing has changed—and my chain is dead simple. Mando into PZ Pre into (submixing) mixer into FOH. I have zero stage volume (no amp, no monitor). I'm pretty sure my luthier superglued them to the top.

Edit: I should add that I run the same JJBs in a couple of banjos with zero trouble. I replaced the one in my main guitar because it had some very odd EQ humps that I found very unpleasant.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2018, 04:24 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,098
Default

OK, after a couple more gigs, it was doing it with my banjo, as well. I'm wondering if something's not set right on my PZ Pre (both run through it).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2018, 08:08 PM
Stanstep3 Stanstep3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 74
Default Battery?

Hi Midwinter,

Is your pre-amp battery powered? If so, maybe the battery is almost dead and the signal is clipping. The banjo may have a hotter signal, which may be why it was ok for longer (the quieter mando had to be turned up more?). Just a hunch. Good luck!

Stan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2018, 08:50 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanstep3 View Post
Hi Midwinter,

Is your pre-amp battery powered? If so, maybe the battery is almost dead and the signal is clipping. The banjo may have a hotter signal, which may be why it was ok for longer (the quieter mando had to be turned up more?). Just a hunch. Good luck!

Stan
The PZ Pre is the preamp. Both instruments use identical JJB pickups.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-14-2018, 10:55 PM
midwinter midwinter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,098
Default

So I disengaged the PZB (the piezo buffer) and I think that's solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Stringed Instruments

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=