The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-02-2019, 03:12 AM

Default Best combination of mixer gain, mixer volume, amp/PA volume?

Hi all.

I'm new to live sound amplification gear and am interested in knowing how to get consistent results instead of experimental twiddling.

(This is an expanded version of Ohiopicker's question about setting up a dynamic mic and amp).

What sequence do you set the levels of mixer channel gain, mixer volume, and amp/PA volume to get good sound and handy adjustability?

How does the level of each control affect quality and potential feedback?

What sequence is best for handling feedback?

Does it change between using dynamic mics and condenser mics?

In our case, drop-in singers are usually mic shy and we need to crank up the gain of dynamic mics or move to stage condenser mics.

Should guitar (and other instrument) pickups be set at low, medium or high? Should tone be set at the instrument or the mixer?

PS. What is the difference between 'gain' and volume?

Many thanks.

Old 03-02-2019, 09:12 AM

Research the term "gain staging".

You'll also want to educate your vocalists about proper mic technique. If they stay further from their mics than they should, they will promote the introduction of unwanted noise into the mics, with many attendant problems. The differences between condenser and dynamic mics typically are simplified to noting that condensers tend to be more feedback-prone while providing higher fidelity than dynamic mics, but those are generalizations and exceptions exist.
Old 03-02-2019, 09:17 AM
Charter Member

...lots to cover on this topic...and you are wise to seek advice...I call it gain structure....read up on it by searching gain structure..tons of info available
Old 03-02-2019, 09:24 AM

For me l, I try to do a practice set up at home prior to any live gig. Then memorize settings.
Old 03-02-2019, 09:52 AM