The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 10-02-2014, 07:11 PM

Default Yamaha FG700s truss rod adjustment

Obvious noob here. I got my Yamaha FG700s a few weeks ago and have been practicing and learning. I keep hearing about getting a setup done or adjusting the truss rod yourself. So, I am pretty sure I can be very careful. I'm a noob at guitars but not an idiot.

I think the truss rod can be accessed through the sound hole. However, I took my Allen wrench set and went through every size I could think of but could not get one to seat in there so I could turn the rod.

What am I doing wrong?

In case you want to know, I am trying to straighten the neck. I took a straight edge and could see that the higher frets dip down. I don't play them a lot as I am a total novice and barely learning notes on the first three strings and a bunch of chords. Nonetheless I am a nerd and a DIY sort of guy and thought that if I make small adjustments, giving the neck time to settle, I could maybe get my neck straight.
Monoprice "California Classic" strat copy
Old 10-02-2014, 08:06 PM

Metric.....
Old 10-02-2014, 08:16 PM
Dan - Charter Member

You need a 5mm: http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/...tars/798/4068/ (and I measured my own as well: it's 5mm).

You don't want to make the neck flat; you want a tiny bit of relief (slight dip in center).
Yamaha's instructions:
http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/...tars/798/4068/

General discussion, with pictures:
http://frets.com/FretsPages/Musician...Adj/tradj.html
Old 10-02-2014, 08:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles Tauber View Post
Metric.....
Right, well, see, being that Yamaha is a Japanese company and the guitars are made in a Chinese factory, I knew it had to be metric. So, that's what I used. I started at 4mm and worked my way up to 8mm. I did it twice, just to be sure.