The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 02-20-2021, 09:49 AM

Default Overdrive/Distortion pedals

Hi ... I'm a newbie here; and to preface my questions I would like to emphasis that when it comes to electronics; I have very little experience; so here goes:

1) Do OD/Distortion pedals actually produce their "sounds" inside the pedal and then that sound is released into the signal path and then into the amp without stressing the amp?
I own a keyboard amp slaved to a bass amp ... which provides a sweet warm acoustic tone for my "bell-like", Fishman Blender equipped Rainsong WS1000 guitar.
I want to add some effects ... and I'm thinking of the Fender Smolder type OD or any Distortion pedal that will work with an acoustic guitar ... the amps I have only have clean channels, and:
2) I wonder how much trouble I would have getting a Distorted/OD sound -being as they are not purely electric guitar amps, nor are they dedicated acoustic guitar amps - even if they handle a wide frequency range suited to acoustic guitars?
I know nothing about pedals ... and basically do not want to drive either of my amps into oblivion by forcing them to produce distorted tube amp sounds. Hope this all makes sense ...
Old 02-20-2021, 10:47 AM

I'm lucky enough to be an acoustic player with a son who's a pedal freak. He's got tons. Here's what I've gathered so far:

1. To your first question, the pedals (except for gain boosters) do their thing on their own, no danger to the amp.

2. They're tonally optimized for electric guitars, so acoustic tones may be compromised. As in skinny. With fuzz/overdrive pedals, especially.

3. Per #2, magnetic pickups work best.

4. Watch out for feedback.

5. What works isn't always what's in the best of taste. A compressor pedal into a chorus pedal works great, but it sounds like 1982.