The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-09-2020, 01:19 PM

Default Preamp or DI for Passive Pickup?

I recently bought a new guitar with a passive pickup -- a Yamaha CSF3M. While I mostly play at home, I sometimes have opportunities to play with others and would like to get my own inexpensive preamp or DI so I won't get caught out.

I am looking at:

1) Behringer ADI21
2) Behringer DI100
2) LR Baggs Gigpro

There are obviously big differences in these, but I am new to this and looking for some guidance. Cost vs durability vs flexibility are bouncing around in my head. The Gigpro is more than I want to spend on something I won't use that much right now, but should I be looking at this price range to get adequate quality and versatility?
Old 07-09-2020, 01:30 PM

Since you don't know what you want in detail, the Behringer ADI21 is a great choice.

It is decent quality for a super low price. Use it for awhile and you will either

1. Be satisfied with no need to look any further, or
2. Know more precisely WHAT feature or characteristic you desire, so you can go find that upgrade. (and keep the ADI21 around as a backup or loaner)

If you aren't playing out a lot, many of the possible features of preamps are not going to be applicable/desirable.

1978 Larrivee L-26 cutaway
1988 Larrivee L-28 cutaway
2006 Larrivee L03-R
2009 Larrivee LV03-R
2016 Irvin SJ cutaway
2020 Irvin SJ cutaway (build thread)
K+K, Dazzo, Schatten/ToneDexter

Notable Journey website
Facebook page

Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art. - Leonardo Da Vinci
Old 07-09-2020, 01:36 PM
Charter Member

Talking