The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-01-2010, 05:21 PM

Default Sometimes older equipment is better

Hi I am a newbie.

A singer/guitarist from London UK.

Recently I brought the new Mackie pro FX 8 and was initally excited as it has some great features and lots of headroom.
But I also have the previous mackie DFX 6 and although a bit less headroom them the Pro FX 8 and more bigger in size. I find the sound quality on the DFX 6 much better then the ProFX 8.

I brought the pro FX because of the added USB feature and will keep it for that reason.

But The mic pre's are so good on the previous version the Mackie DFX 6 that I find I can plug my jack to jack lead straight into the line input without the need for a DI box.
Though the Pro FX 8 has has a DI input the overall sound quality is'nt quite the same.

I am finding that sometime with older equipment there is a warmth that the new upgrade's are missing.

Has anyone else found this with there equipment?

Its a shame that the DFX 6 is now discontinued.
Old 05-01-2010, 07:44 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Blues View Post
Hi I am a newbie.

A singer/guitarist from London UK.

Recently I brought the new Mackie pro FX 8 and was initally excited as it has some great features and lots of headroom.
But I also have the previous mackie DFX 6 and although a bit less headroom them the Pro FX 8 and more bigger in size. I find the sound quality on the DFX 6 much better then the ProFX 8.

I brought the pro FX because of the added USB feature and will keep it for that reason.

But The mic pre's are so good on the previous version the Mackie DFX 6 that I find I can plug my jack to jack lead straight into the line input without the need for a DI box.
Though the Pro FX 8 has has a DI input the overall sound quality is'nt quite the same.