The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-12-2019, 07:55 PM
Charter Member

Default ....all by myself....

....current threads about playing out combined with my relatively recent withdrawal from the music scene has led to ponder my solitary musical pursuits...after all....even when I played and rehearsed several times a week..which was my typical involvement for 40 years....I still played most of the time by myself....nobody listening....

...I LOVE that!!!.....these days I can learn any song I want...play it exactly how I want to play it...tweak an arrangement any time I feel like it....my level of musical enjoyment is as good or better than it ever has been....

....it’s hard for me believe how obsessed I was with performing for so long...starting out as a class clown in grade school....I have a BFA degree in theatre for Pete’s sake...(the only degree more worthless than marine biology)....I used to love to perform...

...nowadays it’s all by myself...and it’s all good...how about you other hideaways??.
Old 09-12-2019, 09:07 PM

Yeah, it's ridiculous how bad I am considering how long I've been at it, but I trudge on nevertheless. Currently working on hybrid picking at a lower volume.

I can't stop myself, but it's just a hobby, so . . .
Old 09-13-2019, 05:35 AM
Guest 33123

I've given up performing. I don't even perform at the open mic at Fur Peace Ranch anymore. Too stressful for zero return. Plus I don't feel like lugging a trunk load of gear across town for $100. Someone else can do it now. I just play at home and record occasionally. I do play in front of others at FPR informally and get nice feedback so that's enough exposure for me.
Old 09-13-2019, 05:51 AM
Charter Member