The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-10-2020, 09:16 PM

Default Neck reset help on Epi DR-200

Hi, all-

I'm a beginning luthier (3 years experience) and am just getting into neck resets.

My mentor advised me that the easiest way to remove the neck from a Gibson or Guild was to loosen the fingerboard tongue and then cut the fingerboard at the 14th fret (at the body) to expose the neck joint.

I did that in an Epi DR-200S found what looks like the top of a mahogany tenon split by the truss rod.

Even though I've drilled around the two partial tenons and can get steam to flow somewhat freely, nothing I do seems to loosen the neck.

No bolts or other fasteners can be found by inspection or by magnet.

I have close-up images but only on my camera and PC. This forum seems to want me to provide a URL and I don't know how to do that.

Anyone here have experience with undoing this style of neck joint? I can't take it to my mentor for his examination because of the virus lockdown here in Maryland.

Any help would certainly be appreciated.
Old 04-10-2020, 10:59 PM

Not to disparage but you really should not cut the extension section off during a neck reset, it adds a lot of side strength to an installed neck and can create a lot of issues for the owner at a later date.

Find a hosting site like photbucket etc and post there and then url link the photos to here or if you have facebook, post the photos in your facebook timeline and right click the image and copy address and link that in with the url

Steve
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 04-11-2020, 06:43 AM
Charter Member