The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-22-2012, 04:27 PM

Default The Gambler? First guitar: purchased long distance

I'm a raw newbie (age 53), haven't taken a single lesson but after doing my research decided that I wanted a Seagull S6 for my first guitar and was mulling the new vs used thing when I saw a Seagull "20th Anniversary" Spruce and Maple for sale on Denver's CL for $250 with a hard case. Did some Googling on it and when a coworker who plays saw it he said "You want that". (He has a Spruce S6 himself and loves it).

Unfortunately, Denver is 5 hours from me and I was at work on Friday when I saw it. I have a good friend in Greeley who was willing to do the face-to-face, but couldn't get there until this afternoon. I emailed the seller and let him know my story and how I would be honored to give his guitar a good home, if he would put me at the front of the line (in case anybody else called). Gave him my cell number so he would know I was for real and he called and we chatted. He's in a folk group and has a gig tonight, so it may have some miles on it. He said in the ad that it had new frets and no electronics, but the button hole was reamed to make installation of one easy (so I won't have to buy a tool when that time comes, eh?)

Well, I just got the confirmation from my buddy that he got the guitar and says that it is gorgeous. Unknown to me, he has also been flirting with the idea of learning and I think this has probably pushed him over the edge. He's threatening that mine will never see the State of Nebraska.