The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 01-25-2005, 07:48 AM

Default Vocal Problems

I seem to be loosing the low end of my vocal range lately on jam nights.

Normally the low E is the absolute bottom end, F is the lowest reliable note. But lately I have been having trouble hitting a G and last night even an A, if it came at the beginning of a song. A couple measures into the song and A wasn’t a problem, but G and below was. I try to warm up a few minutes before leaving the house for a jam and there are no problems then. This problem has been coming and going for about the last month, more coming than going. Does anybody have any remedies?

Thanks
Old 01-26-2005, 05:50 PM

Hi I am a vocal trainer, and ofcourse I can not make any real comments about what is wrong with you. But let's make some assumptions. Maybe you can recognize some of this, and find some answers and maybe even remedies.

Enemy no 1 for every voice is tension. For a low note your vocal chords need maximum relaxation. That's the reason many people sound so low when they come out of bed: they're still relaxed. If there's to many tension on the vocal chords, low notes become harder to sing. So either you developed a wrong way of intonating and singing, slowly introducing more and more tension on your vocals chrods, or there is something physiological going wrong. The latter is hard to establish as a cause, I do not have a cristal ball, so go see a good doctor. But if the cause is merely due to bad habits, you can start by taking singing lessons, and doing exercises to relax your way of singing.

To find out if you have any bad habits, just be honoust in answering these questions for yourself: is there any strain involved in singing? Is there any pain or an itchy feeling invlolved in singing for a while? If yes, you are developing bad habits which in time will increase and will be harder to get rid of.