The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 04-15-2003, 09:09 AM

Default Four FInger Roll

I'm an old dog trying to learn some tricks. I'm still kicking my self in the arse for giving up guitar lessons when I was in second or third grade so I could play little league. Needless to say I am not a professional athlete. So 40 some years later, here I am. I'm trying to do a roll or arpegate a chord quickly. I've been trying, but I feel like I'm too spastic or something. Is there an exercise that would help? I practice by trying to speed up a medium speed roll, if you will, but can't seem to get it up to a good speed. Like I'm hitting the sound barrier.

Any tips on how to hold my hand or execises? Any tricks of the trade? Maybe I just have to keep banging at it until I hopefully break through.

Thanks!
Tommy
Old 04-15-2003, 10:45 AM

---------4-
------x----
---4-------
-x---------
-----------
-----------

This is a roll that I have been practicing on Tommy Emmanuel's song "Mombasa." The way I do it is thumb hits the 'x' on the D string and then immediately after my index, middle, and ring fingers roll the next notes off.

The way that I usually play fingerstyle pieces is with my pinky on my right hand resting on the guitar, but recently I have found (in rolls particularly) that my fingers are more free and roll more easily over the strings when I play with the more classical approach and have my hand floating over the strings.

Thats how I do it anyway Just practice it over and over.

Hope that helped!

Devon
Old 04-15-2003, 11:14 AM
Charter Member

I'm assuming you mean an arppegio, not a "banjo style roll". If so, do two things:

Listen to some Doyle Dykes stuff - he uses a really graceful arppegio (I don't know how to spell that) all of the time. Listen to what he does and try to emmulate it with some simple first position chords.