The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 03-29-2003, 08:12 AM

Default Recomend a Basic Metronome

I am a beginner getting ready to by my first guitar.
(Trying to decide which Taylor to buy....decisions decisions)

Checked out a surprisingly good book from the local library for beginner guitar. It recommended a metronome. I had never heard of a metronome. It teaches very basic music notation,and chords and gets started very quickly strumming with a metronome. Sounds pretty good to me.

Mapletrees dropped by another thread I have going and noticed I was a beginner and recommended a metronome. I want to get one but I dont know anything about a metronome.

Before I go shopping for one I would like to get a little input.Would you folks give me some recommendations on metronomes. If you have a particular model and it works good for you let me know.

I appreciate anyone taking a few minutes to share your thoughts. I have been on this forum about a month now and have been amazed at the wealth of knowledge here and the sharing that takes place between experienced players and the novices like me.
Old 03-29-2003, 06:02 PM

I use a Seiko DM-20 digital metronome. They are about the size of a credit card and can be set more accurately than traditional mechanical metronomes, plus they are much more portable.
Old 03-29-2003, 06:27 PM

Smile call me Andy Analog....

definitely prefer the simple ones that have the big rotary dial....

if you go to the Musician's Friend website and search on "metronome" you'll see all sorts...

some of those other ones look like they're going to launch chemical weapons at you...

but opinions are like........
Indeed, there is something in the current DC/NY culture that equates a lack of unthinking boosterism with a lack of patriotism. As if not being drunk on the latest Dow gains is somehow un-American. - Arianna Huffington May 11, 2009