The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 02-02-2008, 08:35 PM

Default Vocal processor/recording

I am looking at some of the TC-Helicon products. What I would like is a vocal processor that will allow me to process vocals before recording (add reverb, etc.) and then record on my H4 using an eternal mic (SM-58).

I would also like to eventually (dare to) do open mics and would like to use the processor live as well.

I'm not stuck on the TC-Helicon products but I hear they are excellent.

I also own a Mac laptop that I move the files to. Right now I use GarageBand (and am I learning Cubebase) to process what I record after the fact. It would be nice to be able to add reverb, compression, etc. afterward.

Any help? Thanks all!
Old 02-02-2008, 09:25 PM

I've been using a TC Helicon Voice Prism Plus for recording for a few years now. I like its sound quality and its versatility. In a live situation I use it as my vocal mic preamp/effects box. Its only real disadvantage is that for live use as a vocal harmonizer it requires extensive programming in advance and then frequent use of a floor pedal to follow chord changes. The Voice Prism Plus has been DC'd but if TC Helicon's newer gear is of equal quality it should be very good.

AKA 'Screamin' Tooth Parker'

You can listen to Walt's award winning songs with his acoustic band The Porch Pickers @ the Dixie Moon album or rock out electrically with Rock 'n' Roll Reliquary

Bourgeois AT Mahogany D
Gibson Hummingbird
Martin J-15
Voyage Air VAD-04
Martin 000X1AE
Squier Classic Vibe 50s Stratocaster
Squier Classic Vibe Custom Telecaster
PRS SE Standard 24
Old 02-02-2008, 09:36 PM