The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-25-2020, 03:48 PM

Default Relearning Guitar After 45 Years

Between retirement and Covid-19 I've decided to start playing guitar again after a 45 year hiatus - boy do my fingers hurt lol! I bought a fender FA-115 beginner pack which I'm not real happy with. I also have a 1973 Framus Jumbo that I bought in Germany while stationed in Manheim as a 21 year old. A friend also loaned me a $60 FirstAct electric with no amp, mainly because after 2 months my fingers still hurt and I could only play about 15 minutes at a time. I'm a beginner when it comes to calluses but I was a pretty good rhythm guitarist back in the day and things are slowly coming back to me. Surprisingly, I can play twice as long with the cheap electric as I can with either of my acoustics.

My problem - I love the low action of the electric, even this low end one, but I've always really loved playing acoustic. I don't remember the finger pain lasting this long when I first learned at 12yo, but I also learned on a friend's electric (a Kay I believe).

After screwing up my courage to go into a store during the pandemic (I'm 68, some other health issues) I went to the local Guitar Center with my mask and tried out a Taylor Academy 12e Grand Concert recently but it didn't really fit me. I was surprised because it's such a nice guitar that is advertised as having a low action but it was not for me. I wanted to also try a Seagull but they had none in stock at that moment.

So, I'm looking for an acoustic or acoustic-electric that plays like an electric. Any and all suggestions would certainly be appreciated! I'm finding the acoustics I have are a little harder to play than I remember. Of course, my hands have 68 years on them instead of 12, maybe that's a part of it. 😁

Thanks in advance! Sorry this is so long.

Dave