The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-30-2021, 10:27 PM

Default Practice routines, Technique, Muscle memory.

]Just thinking how others ideas on these subjects importance in your playing are important. Over time do you reach a plateau with retention enough to keep the so called chops sharp. Wow this can lead down a strange thread.
Gail.
Old 10-31-2021, 06:25 AM
Guitar Gourmet

Hi, Gail!

I find that what really keeps the chops sharp is regular practice. Back in the '70s, when I were a wee lad with limited commitments, I started playing an hour or two per day and pushing myself hard to develop. I ran into brick walls where I couldn't get any better. In the 1980s, after I got married and we had babies, I eventually wandered into a year or so where I had limited time and didn't get to play as much. Eventually my wife encouraged me to hit the grindstone again and I did. Daily practice, whatever I could afford.

Ever since then I'm reminded of Segovia's statement about practice. He said that after he missed a day of practice he could tell the difference. After two days of missed practice the audience could tell the difference. And after three days the critics could tell the difference. Hah!

And yes, eventually you develop memories that make some of playing fairly automatic. From there it is up to you to push the boundaries to continue developing. I've done some wacky stuff like transcribing classical violin tunes and tunes from other instruments such as flute, clarinet, oboe, and uilleann pipes to guitar, in part because they don't follow typical guitar patterns and require a stretch to execute reasonably well.