The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Closed Thread

Old 12-07-2014, 06:07 AM

Default Why do few major artists play Carbon?

If these guitars are as good as we think they are why don't you see major artists playing them?
2001 Michael Keller Koa Baby
2014 Godin Inuk
2012 Deering B6 Openback Banjo
2012 Emerald Acoustic Doubleneck
2012 Rainsong JM1000 Black Ice
2009 Wechter Pathmaker 9600 LTD
1982 Yairi D-87 Doubleneck
1987 Ovation Collectors
1993 Ovation Collectors
1967 J-45 Gibson
1974 20th Annivers. Les Paul Custom
Old 12-07-2014, 06:27 AM
Charter Member

I have no experience with them at all. I absolutely love the concept, but I wonder about the sound.

Not being wood, I wonder if they basically give you 95% of a wood guitar's sound with absolute safety and durability - making them great for travel, outdoor use, guitar-dangerous environments (like mosh pits), etc.

But, for recording or performing, I wonder if artists want 100% of the sound (which makes me wonder why anyone can stand quacky piezos, then)

Taylor GC7, GA3-12, SB2-C, SB2-Cp...... Ibanez AVC-11MHx , AC-240
Old 12-07-2014, 10:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doubleneck View Post
If these guitars are as good as we think they are why don't you see major artists playing them?
Not sure who you consider a major artist, but David Wilcox, Sharon Aguilar, and Al Petteway seem rather happy playing Rainsong. I think the main reason you don't see more Rainsongs out there is the same reason you don't see a lot of Froggy's or Huss & Daltons out there, just not than many are built, only about a 1000 guitars per year. If you were thinking of major artists like Paul Simon and Eric Clapton, than the answer is simple, these "A list" artist get huge sums of money to be seen with a particular brand, none of the small builders can afford them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fazool View Post