The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 06-11-2020, 06:38 AM
Charter Member

Default Zoom H4n questions

I have this device which I am now using in my lessons. I will lay down a progression of chords and then loop the playback and improvise on top. But the internal speaker is weak and does not project nearly enough. I do use a high quality set of ear buds, but they tend to isolate the guitar. So either one “track” or the other is muted. My question is whether there is a single or pair of external speakers that this device could drive.
I know nothing about sound processing or programs that do it. But, as a photographer, I am very familiar with Photoshop/Lightroom and am wondering if there is an equivalent kind of intuitive program to process the files produced by the Zoom device.
Much obliged.
David
Old 06-11-2020, 07:19 AM

Hi there! I'm unsure about the first part of our question –– although I'm fairly sure you'd be able to get small, powered speaker of the kind you used to be able to plug into 'walkmans' and such before Bluetooth took over, and it would be infinitely better than the internal on the Zoom device.

As for the second part, Audacity is a free, open-source and super-easy to use recording programme (find it via Google). It's very basic though and doesn't do very well with adding effects and such, where it really shows itself as a cheap and cheerful option.

Reaper (again, find it via google) is free for 60 days and then very affordable should you wish to carry on with it. Steeper learning curve, but you can learn as much or as little as you want to and there are masses of online tutorials and forums about it. Any time I've had a question about it, I have found the answer in minutes. It's a marvel, IMO.

Happy picking!

Yamaha MIJ CJX32
Avalon L32
Avalon A32 Legacy
Lowden 022
Gibson J-185
Takamine TNV360sc
Cole Clark Fat Lady 3
Old 06-11-2020, 07:35 AM