The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-25-2020, 02:21 PM

Default New to recording, need advice on current setup

Hello all,

New to recording and this forum. Been playing fingerstyle for almost a year and would like to start sharing my work on social media.

Current setup:

Untreated Open living room with hard flooring for an ambience/reverb sound

Untreated Carpeted bedroom for a dryer sound.

Taylor 314 Non CE 2019 V-Class

I’m looking to record in stereo and be able to maintain some mobility with a laptop.

Desired gear:

Mic - AT 2021 x2
Interface- Motu M2 https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...udio-interface

heard this was a the better entry level interface.

DAW - reaper or whatever works

Please let me know what you guys think. I’m new to recording and playing and not looking to break the bank just yet.

Thank you
Old 05-25-2020, 03:00 PM

Your desired gear list looks fine.

As far as where to record, I'd suggest you experiment in different places. As a general rule, the less ambiance the better.
Old 05-25-2020, 03:27 PM

Agree that that equipment will do fine, and your recording location will be a factor. Remember that what you *think you hear* with your ears in a space isn't necessarily what a microphone picks up. Your brain is pretty good at filtering out the odd frequencies, reflections and echoes that the mic will hear.

Experiment with location (not being parallel to walls can help) and close micing and you should be able to get something decent.
Old 05-25-2020, 04:53 PM

One thing to keep in mind -- the closer the mics, the less influence room acoustics will have, so experiment with placement.

On YouTube you will find many great recordings made in untreated rooms.

2012 Martin HD-28V
1984 Martin Shenandoah D-2832
2018 Gretsch G5420TG
Oscar Schmidt Autoharp, unknown vintage
ToneDexter
Bugera V22 Infinium
Old 05-26-2020, 01:09 PM