The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-01-2021, 07:32 AM
Charter Member

Default Working Towards a Goal

Well, it’s been 2 years exactly since I decided to focus on learning to flatpick acoustic guitar and learning to sing with guitar, and I set myself the goal to work up some solo songs for the campfire, pub and local open mic’.

I recorded myself on my phone last night and for the first time I think that I am now just about ready to venture out into the world with a few songs once we come out of lockdown. It has been a long journey so far, with many more miles to go. But I do think that having a specific goal to aim for has kept me on track and probably speeded up my learning.

I feel my singing is the area now that needs the most work as I feel that I'm only just starting to find my voice with guitar, and haven't got that right yet. And I have no solo performance experience, so that's all going to be new to me when the local open mic' starts up again.

I've played and studied traditional noter/drone mountain dulcimer for many years. And I used to play dobro in a bluegrass band.

Old 04-01-2021, 08:19 AM

Nice! Good playing and good singing as well. I’m still at a point where my singing voice detracts from the song as a whole lol. Your singing is good enough that it’s just part of the song. Making the guitar sound pretty good has been a lot easier than voice for me. Rock on brave Sir Robin
Old 04-01-2021, 10:02 AM
Charter Member

Thanks!

It is quite a challenge to post my first video here of me playing and singing.

My aim with my guitar playing is to get good enough so that no one notices it - if that makes sense?

And my aim with my singing is to get good enough to engage an audience.