The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 02-01-2023, 08:58 PM
Charter Member

Default Apparently, I'm An Uber Driver

This week, I received a 1099-NEC for a little over $2000 in claimed wages from Uber. I've only worked full-time and never driven for Uber (or any ride sharing company) and barely even used them as a customer. Looking online, this seems to be a known issue, where drivers use someone else's name and last four SSN to avoid paying taxes. I'm not sure how they got my info, but it's basically a form of identity theft.

Not surprisingly, Uber is completely unhelpful -- no number to reach a live person, and their customer support enters a circular reference, saying they cannot discuss details unless I log in with my driver account. Umm, hello...? I am not a driver with your company!

So frustrating b/c now I will have to go through the IRS directly to get this cleared up.
Old 02-01-2023, 09:30 PM

You don't live too far from their headquarters in San Francisco. How about driving over there and talk to them in person?
Old 02-02-2023, 02:54 AM
Charter Member

I'm sure they have security to prevent non-employees from swinging by. Also, it really shouldn't require a 100 mile drive to get them to address and help resolve this issue.
Old 02-02-2023, 06:53 AM
Charter Member

That’s identity theft. You need to report it, and them, because obviously they are not validating their contractor identities and are cultivating a climate for tax fraud. I know you say it’s common, but you need to report it because someone has your SSN number and is using it fraudulently.
Old 02-02-2023, 08:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryc-k View Post