The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 01-21-2016, 07:41 AM

Default New guy help...CF choices

Hi,

I'm totally new to the world of guitars, but I have long wanted to learn to play. (I'm mid forties and finally have the $$ and time now that the kids are out of the house... lol)

I have done a bunch of research and have listened to bunch of guitars... Not being a player this is tricky LOL. And watched video reviews, and while I love a good sold wood guitar, its really hard to justify the cost of wood when I live in a house with large humidity and temperature swings. Its older, poorly insulated, and not air conditioned, and its heated with wood, so temperatures range from over 100F and 100% humidity in the summer and 55F and 25% humidity at night in the winter. I'm afraid that a wood guitar will be more work than pleasure, and I will be afraid of it suffering irreparable damage.

Based on this I thought a CF guitar might be the right choice. I have up to $1000 US ($1400 Cdn) to spend.

Which of the CF guitars out there would be a good choice., so far I'm leaning towards a CA as their sound seems more balanced than the Rainsongs. I intend to have this guitar for a long time, so that's why I'm not interested in buying a $200 "starter guitar". Oh also forgot to mention I prefer fingerstyle playing so that is how I will be learning.
Old 01-21-2016, 08:09 AM

I don't think there are any CA guitars in your price range.

The only two I can think of are Emerald, the X5 and X7. Both are under $1000 shipped.

Journey's OF660 is slightly higher at $1100.

Since carbon fiber is pretty unchangeable, you also have the option of looking in the For Sale section here at AGF and eBay and you might find what you want for sale there under $1000.

Rainsong, CA, and Blackbird have nothing new under $1000 that I'm aware of. Even used under $1000 will be difficult to find, I think.