The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-16-2020, 06:55 PM

Default Emotions and good guitar playing

I've heard several guitarists talk about how one "attacks" the guitar. That got me thinking about how important the emotional side of guitar playing is. I am an older, retired man who has been playing for only 7-8 years. I'm self taught, and mostly finger pick folk and pop songs written before 1980. I also strum or finger pick a few traditional Mexican songs -- boleros and huapangas. I live in a relatively isolated area of Mexico, and though I am a US citizen, my principle daily language is Spanish, which I learned here. I have no contact with other guitarists.

I'm very pleased with my playing and with my rapid improvement. However, I seem to lack the ability to consistently play more difficult pieces without making mistakes. I have thought about this a lot, and I feel that my problem is trying to reach two necessary (for me) states at the same time.

1) relaxation
2) sufficient level of concentration

These two states seem to be somewhat contradictory.

I play only for myself, and have no intention of changing that. (I am a widower, and live alone.) My favorite guitar is my Larrivee LV-10 with Elixir 80/20 Bronze 10/47 extra light strings. I also have a Taylor and a Martin, and several classical guitars that I seldom use.

Any thoughts or similar experiences?
Old 02-16-2020, 07:53 PM

A lot to unpack here. I agree with you, although I dislike the concept of attacking the guitar.

Relaxation is certainly important. There is very little muscle tension involved with activating a guitar string, and increasing tension unnecessarily is generally a poor plan. Tight muscles are slow muscles.

Concentration is definitely necessary, but it won't replace preparation.