The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 08-27-2020, 08:52 PM

Default Unique Regal cutaway archtop

The seller advertised this Regal as 1950s, but the original, enclosed tuners were used in the late 30s, early 40s. Solid, pressed, spruce top, laminated maple back, ebony fretboard. The guitar is loud, with suprising bass and a sharp attack (what archtop players refer to as "cutting power").
Old 08-27-2020, 08:58 PM

Posting better pics
Old 08-29-2020, 09:41 AM

I'm not an expert on Regals but I'll date this one as ca. 1949-51 - still within the postwar transition period, and IME it wasn't uncommon for prewar appointments/hardware to be incorporated in newer production until existing stocks ran out (the binding, tailpiece, and uncompensated bridge also straddle the pre- and postwar eras). The pressed solid top was a common practice in low-midline archtops (Epiphone proudly declaring themselves as the notable exception - all their New York-era acoustic instruments boasted carved tops regardless of price) - FYI Gibson recently attempted to revive this cost-cutting technique in their Solid Formed 17" jazzbox (which, at $6300 street, was ironically priced over $1K higher than a comparably-appointed all-carved Mark Campellone Standard) - and many transitioning flattop players appreciate the extended bass response, compared to the more midrange-focused tone of an equivalent carved instrument. As budget guitars many of these were used up and discarded, but yours appears to be a real survivor: well-played judging by the handwear along the length of the (fairly hefty-appearing) neck, never converted to electric, and in better shape than most far-pricier 70-year-old flattops I've seen (which IME tends to be the case with archtops in general) - use it well and often...
Old 08-29-2020, 01:41 PM