The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 04-25-2022, 12:16 AM

Default some mental floss for you........

Thought I would share this with everyone.
I've been working on Leyanda (Asturias) Albeniz for over 40 years. This is the best rendition/performance I've heard or seen. Check out the chord crescendos yet his right hand doesn't really move then realize those powerful whacks are simply the weight of his fingers force striking the strings not the weight of your wrist striking the strings. I usually want to shoot my hand after seeing this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY5y4Rp3tU8
Old 04-25-2022, 12:27 AM
Charter Member

John’s 81st birthday yesterday. An astonishing musician.

Brook ‘Lamorna’ OM (European Spruce/EIR) (2019)
Lowden F-23 (Red Cedar/Claro Walnut) (2017)
Martin D-18 (2012)
Martin HD-28V (2010)
Fender Standard Strat (2017-MIM)
Old 05-07-2022, 04:04 AM

I believe it was Segovia and Williams who set the tempo and standard for Austurias. Why did they set the bar so high???

One day, I will play this piece.
Old 05-07-2022, 01:14 PM

One tip many teachers have told me when playing this type of pieces made originally for other instrument is to listen to the original version just so you can see how it is played normally by musicians who are not guitarists, because there has been a tendency created by guitarists, to, let's say, "deform" the piece (like not respecting the rhythm, the tempo indications or just by playing very rubato). So I encourage you to listen asturias played on the piano and notice the difference, that might help you!
Old 05-07-2022, 03:17 PM

It's an interesting piece, because Albeniz (as I understand it) was essentially imitating the guitar when he wrote for the piece for piano, which was then arranged back for guitar.

This article by Stanley Yates has some good info, I think:http://stanleyyates.com/writings/leyenda.pdf
Old 05-09-2022, 02:50 PM