The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-03-2010, 06:11 PM

Default amp control setting????

i'm new to bass guitar playing-i'd like to know how to set my amp for just home playing country music(accompanying my wife on guitar)--my 20 watt Typhoon amp has the following GAIN, MASTER, TREBLE, MIDDLE, BASS and COUNTOUR.
Old 12-03-2010, 10:37 PM
Charter Member

Don't know that particular amp, but here's a general procedure that I use for all new-to-me amps:

Start with the volume and tone controls on the bass wide open (all the way up) and the amp EQ set flat (contour, treble, mid, and bass knobs @ the 12:00 position)

Master Volume on the amp will control the overall loudness that you hear in the room. Gain will have a strong influence on the amount of distortion: the higher the gain, the more "grit" you'll hear in the tone. Keep in mind that the two are interactive - raising the gain will also raise the overall volume level and vice versa

For most country styles, the desired target is a fairly clean tone, thus you very likely won't want the Gain control set to an extremly high position. High gain works well for Metallica tunes but not so well for Country. Experiment with the Gain control, with the object of having it as high as possible without the tone getting unpleasantly distorted. Also note that right-hand technique has an influence here. The harder you pluck (or pick, if you play that way) the easier it is to get a distorted tone with the same Gain setting. In any case, if the amp gets too loud or quiet for your purposes, adjust with the Master