The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-27-2023, 01:14 PM
DavidE's Avatar
DavidE DavidE is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,084
Default Virtuo Plugged in Acoustic Sound - Less than thrilled

I used my Virtuo through my acoustic pedalboard and a Bose S1 for a "gig" at The James Cancer Hospital at THE Ohio State University today. Most rewarding gig I've ever played. Twice a month before Covid then shut down. Just started up again and I played 3 times this month and am scheduled through the end of the year.



Anyway, The Virtuo uses electric string and without that wound G it just didn't sound very good as a pure acoustic. My only tone controls are the basic ones on my Boss AD10 and I didn't improve it much that way. I turned up the acoustic resonance and that didn't help either.



Short of putting acoustic strings on it, does anyone have any suggestions about how to make this sound more like a regular piezo equipped acoustic?

IMG_6160.jpg

Last edited by DavidE; 09-27-2023 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2023, 07:35 PM
dgaemc2 dgaemc2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 874
Default

Did you try pulling the Ghost Piezo volume pot? It offers 2 EQ voicings for the Piezo pu.

Also experiment with blending in some Fishman pickup combinations?

Acoustic sounds are not the Virtuo's strength but there are a lot of pickup options worth trying.

If all else fails you might try the midi plugged into guitar synthesizer with Acoustic guitar preset?

Last edited by dgaemc2; 09-27-2023 at 07:40 PM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2023, 08:02 AM
DavidE's Avatar
DavidE DavidE is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaemc2 View Post
Did you try pulling the Ghost Piezo volume pot? It offers 2 EQ voicings for the Piezo pu.

Also experiment with blending in some Fishman pickup combinations?

Acoustic sounds are not the Virtuo's strength but there are a lot of pickup options worth trying.

If all else fails you might try the midi plugged into guitar synthesizer with Acoustic guitar preset?
Ah, I didnít know about the pull pot. Iíll try that. I have a synth arriving today but I donít want to take that to acoustic gigs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2023, 01:26 AM
DavidE's Avatar
DavidE DavidE is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidE View Post
Ah, I didnít know about the pull pot. Iíll try that. I have a synth arriving today but I donít want to take that to acoustic gigs.


Didnít help. It has to be the use of electric strings, but my Parkers donít sound this metallic.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2023, 07:30 AM
AcouStickistNS AcouStickistNS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 232
Default Hybrids

I donít have a Virtuo, but your mention of Parker caught my attention. My ďhybridĒ is a Musicman Majesty JP signature. To get the piezo side to sound more acoustic sometimes depends on what you are playing through. I get more bottom end out of my S1 by using a pair. I have hybrid instruments also between an electric guitar and bass ( as well as an Emerald Synergy) and they can be a bit thin and metallic sounding with using only one S1.

In some cases I can tell the sound of the plastic cabinets of the S1 in comparison to a PA or other amp with a wooden cabinet. Keep in mind carbon fiber instruments have longer decay times in the higher frequencies compared to their wooden counterparts. Doesnít mean the cabs will always sound bad, just more attention to how to eq them, as well as what environment you are playing in. The S1 can change its profile depending on position, or just defeat it as an FRFR amp by putting it on a PA stand to activate that switch for FRFR mode. Sometimes however, Iíve found in certain rooms taking it off works better.

If I were in your situation I would try a heavier gage of the same string brand first to preserve the ability to switch from and electric to acoustic, otherwise for me using acoustic guitar strings means just play an acoustic; a hybrid with acoustic strings would defeat its purpose for me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2023, 08:13 AM
DavidE's Avatar
DavidE DavidE is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcouStickistNS View Post
I don’t have a Virtuo, but your mention of Parker caught my attention. My “hybrid” is a Musicman Majesty JP signature. To get the piezo side to sound more acoustic sometimes depends on what you are playing through. I get more bottom end out of my S1 by using a pair. I have hybrid instruments also between an electric guitar and bass ( as well as an Emerald Synergy) and they can be a bit thin and metallic sounding with using only one S1.

In some cases I can tell the sound of the plastic cabinets of the S1 in comparison to a PA or other amp with a wooden cabinet. Keep in mind carbon fiber instruments have longer decay times in the higher frequencies compared to their wooden counterparts. Doesn’t mean the cabs will always sound bad, just more attention to how to eq them, as well as what environment you are playing in. The S1 can change its profile depending on position, or just defeat it as an FRFR amp by putting it on a PA stand to activate that switch for FRFR mode. Sometimes however, I’ve found in certain rooms taking it off works better.

If I were in your situation I would try a heavier gage of the same string brand first to preserve the ability to switch from and electric to acoustic, otherwise for me using acoustic guitar strings means just play an acoustic; a hybrid with acoustic strings would defeat its purpose for me.
I get plenty of bass. The issue is with the g, b and e strings sounding magnetic almost. Like a Taylor ES system but worse. I tried it in a couple of very different venues and at home. Not good. I’ll try adding a BodyRez and even try an IR. But there are hybrids that use acoustic strings like the new Cole Clark and my Rick Turner Renaissance Deuce. My Hamer Duotone used electric strings and didn’t sound like this.

And the guitar has 11 gauge already, so heavier than stock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2023, 09:38 AM
AcouStickistNS AcouStickistNS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 232
Default Gear

Just saw in your other thread you have a lot of the same gear as me. I also use a Helix and Quad Cortex. For my Emeralds I captured my EAE Stompmix 6 as Iíve found that to be the best sounding box I have for my Emeralds.

With another DI box I have, the capture had too much zing in the same strings you describe. Works OK on its own, but not as good as the Stompmix.

Iíve not tried sharing patches with other Quad users via their website, if you want to try it Iíd be willing to share. Most of the time when I play live Iím playing through someone elseís PA. Iíve had the best luck with my EAE patches in the Quad.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2023, 11:18 AM
DavidE's Avatar
DavidE DavidE is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcouStickistNS View Post
Just saw in your other thread you have a lot of the same gear as me. I also use a Helix and Quad Cortex. For my Emeralds I captured my EAE Stompmix 6 as Iíve found that to be the best sounding box I have for my Emeralds.

With another DI box I have, the capture had too much zing in the same strings you describe. Works OK on its own, but not as good as the Stompmix.

Iíve not tried sharing patches with other Quad users via their website, if you want to try it Iíd be willing to share. Most of the time when I play live Iím playing through someone elseís PA. Iíve had the best luck with my EAE patches in the Quad.
I just tried the Virtuo through one of my Parker dual source presets I made and it sounds much better. Added the GR33 synth and it's pretty huge sounding. But I'd love to try your presets. My Cortex Cloud name is TheRealDavidE. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2023, 03:20 PM
dgaemc2 dgaemc2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidE View Post
I just tried the Virtuo through one of my Parker dual source presets I made and it sounds much better. Added the GR33 synth and it's pretty huge sounding. But I'd love to try your presets. My Cortex Cloud name is TheRealDavidE. Thanks!
Glad to hear that you found a solution for improved acoustic sounds.

Can you use a 13 pin Midi cable with GR33 or do you have to use an adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2023, 03:24 PM
DavidE's Avatar
DavidE DavidE is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 4,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgaemc2 View Post
Glad to hear that you found a solution for improved acoustic sounds.

Can you use a 13 pin Midi cable with GR33 or do you have to use an adapter?
Itís not really a solution because Iím not taking it to an acoustic gig. But it gives me a starting point.

The GR33 is pretty old (2000-2009 or 2013 I think) but works well. ITT uses the 13 pin cable. Iím wondering if a GP10 would be more useful. But no keyboard or piano sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-29-2023, 05:51 PM
dgaemc2 dgaemc2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidE View Post
It’s not really a solution because I’m not taking it to an acoustic gig. But it gives me a starting point.

The GR33 is pretty old (2000-2009 or 2013 I think) but works well. ITT uses the 13 pin cable. I’m wondering if a GP10 would be more useful. But no keyboard or piano sounds.
I understand it's not a live solution but at least you found a way to get better acoustic tones.

Thanks for response about GR33. I'm sure exploring midi with Virtuo would be fun, but I don't have the time or patience to setup patches.

The only midi box I would consider is one that already has reasonably good factory presets for alternate instruments and accepts 13 pin cable. I'm really not into "Ambience" sounds or presets.

Any suggestion on which "midi box" would best meet my preferences?

Last edited by dgaemc2; 09-30-2023 at 05:48 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-29-2023, 11:13 PM
AcouStickistNS AcouStickistNS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidE View Post
My Cortex Cloud name is TheRealDavidE. Thanks!
Looks like we have to follow each other to share, my Quad name is sbalogh.
I set my Presets and captures to public, I'm following you. I believe you can download them by following me or search.

EAE Harp Bass and EAE Harp Melody are the captures for the bass and six string sides of my Harp Guitar, the presets are also there. Those are the EAE Stompmix 6 captures.

You may want to try the GED2112 captures also, those are off my Geddy Lee signature SansAmp. Sometimes Sansamp bass DI's work for guitars and vocals. Might be something you can use with the MIDI side of your Virtuo.

The BritStick preset is the main preset I use for my Chapman Stick, which would also work with your Virtuo, use the melody side for the magnetic, bass for the piezo. Not sure of whether it would sound good, but Stick and Acoustic guitars we find often can use the exact same gear and acoustic amps without issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Thread Tools





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=