The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 12-20-2022, 11:55 AM

Red face William Butler Yeats Poem

For some reason I am not very good at writing lyrics but I love poetry, so here's a quick workup of a wonderful short Yeats poem.

When You Are Old
by William Butler Yeats

When you are old and grey and full of sleep,
And nodding by the fire, take down this book,
And slowly read, and dream of the soft look
Your eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;

How many loved your moments of glad grace,
And loved your beauty with love false or true,
But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,
And loved the sorrows of your changing face;

And bending down beside the glowing bars,
Murmur, a little sadly, how Love fled
And paced upon the mountains overhead
And hid his face amid a crowd of stars.
Old 12-20-2022, 04:23 PM

Nice job. Your own tune for this?

Stepping lightly, it's your thread, but I've done a passel of Yeats' poems to my own music, including this one -- and you can find them on the Internet if you're interested. Your melody and playing in that example work as well or better as mine.

Most Yeats sets well with music, doesn't it. Did you know that Yeats around the turn of the century wanted to have his work performed with music? He commissioned a luthier to build a psaltery and had worked with a performer on the way he wanted his work performed in concert settings. Whatever he did (there are no recordings) it didn't meet with acclaim. George Bernard Shaw (working as music critic then) panned it.

Anyway, I love to hear what more you do of Yeats or even a fancier recording of "When You Are Old."

Guitars: 20th Century Seagull S6-12, S6 Folk, Seagull M6; '00 Guild JF30-12, '01 Martin 00-15, '16 Martin 000-17, '07 Parkwood PW510, Epiphone Biscuit resonator, Merlin Dulcimer, and various electric guitars, basses....
Old 12-20-2022, 04:32 PM

Cool

Quote: