The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-02-2013, 09:49 AM

Default 2 Distortion Pedals in Tandem

Has anyone tried using 2 distortion pedals in tandem on your pedal board? If so, I would be interested in what you found. Positives, negatives, tips etc. And was it something that became a permanent part of your setup?

Thanks.

For some very simple demos of original music: https://soundcloud.com/rick-langdon

-- Play on!!
Old 05-02-2013, 10:00 AM
Charter Member

Default 2 Distortion Pedals in Tandem

I don't know if this counts, and I am really very new at the electric side of things and using effects, but I put a Boss Overdrive in front of a Tube Screamer and primarily use the Screamer as a boost. It can be crunchy on its own, but I hit it when playing rhythm and want to jump into a solo. Yes I can use the volume on my guitar or a volume pedal, but I set the TS with a particular level of volume and some additional overdrive so that it really helps my guitar get to a good soloing sound. I find it much easier than the other options to simply hit the pedal and hit it again when I'm done and want to play rhythm again.

2013 Joel Stehr Dreadnought - Carpathian/Malaysian BW
2014 RainSong H-OM1000N2
2017 Rainsong BI-WS1000N2
2013 Chris Ensor Concert - Port Orford Cedar/Wenge
1980ish Takamine EF363 complete with irreplaceable memories
A bunch of electrics (too many!!)
Old 05-02-2013, 10:23 AM

I use a Visual Sound Double Trouble ( 2 tube screamers ) and a Boss Blues Driver. All 3 on at the same time makes the tubes in my Bassman go ape****, in a ggood way.
Old 05-02-2013, 10:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grenade View Post
I use a Visual Sound Double Trouble ( 2 tube screamers ) and a Boss Blues Driver. All 3 on at the same time makes the tubes in my Bassman go ape****, in a ggood way.