The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Closed Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 11:11 AM

Default Very expensive guitars: should run-out be tolerated?

Lately I've noticed that even guitars made by some of the world's most reputable luthiers come with tops that show some visible amount of run-out.

Factory builds? Ok.

Starting builders with down to earth pricing? Ok.

I understand that "mastergrade" (notice the quotes) split wood with no run-out is uncommon and more expensive, especially for Euro spruce -- but is it uncommon and expensive enough to justify that some guitars with a base price north of $25K may sport a two-coloured top?
Old 11-04-2012, 11:22 AM

I am new to this obsession, but I also was thinking the same thing. There have been many discussions on this as to its effect on sound and structural impacts.

From an esthetics perspective, I would be disappointed in a high end build that displays this trait. Since I am willing to pay the price, I would expect the best in every way.

BTW: I just bought a Kwasnycia slope "D" Cocobolo/Sitka and the wood all around is perfect in every way and I thought the price was very fair and far less than the top priced builders.

I have a build with Bruce coming up in Feb 2013 and I am sure he will build be a wonderful guitar without any sign of runnout. Maybe he might chime in here.

But what do I know.........Steve

Last edited by needspeed; 11-04-2012 at 11:42 AM.
Old 11-04-2012, 11:32 AM

Does runout sound bad?
Does it split?
Do the guitars explode?
Old 11-04-2012, 11:36 AM