The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-11-2021, 05:20 PM

Default New favorite dynamic vocal mic

I have bought many vocal mics since I started playing/singing back in 2010. For whatever reason, I tend to look for something different than what everyone else uses. Anyway, I've amassed quite a collection of both dynamic and condenser hand held vocal mics over the years. The list includes:
EV Cobalt CO9, CO7, EV ND 767A, Blue Encore 100, 200, 300, AKG D5 Deluxe and C5, as well as the Perception wireless, Sennheiser e935, e945, e965, Heil PR22, PR35, Samson CL5, Neumann KMS105, Audix OM2, Shure Beta58a wired and GLDX wireless, Beta 87a, Miktek PM9, and my new favorite...

The Telefunken M81. Having used many great mics and several condenser mics, I know that I like the response of a condenser, but that sometimes, whether it's a cable issue, or a mixer issue, phantom power can pose an issue, so for live applications, dynamic mics are surely the way to go. With the M81, you get the response of a condenser in a dynamic. The mic is very ruggedly built, comes in a round tube (apparently the M80 tube looks like a fire cracker/firework), has a relatively squared off bottom end of its body and is very heavy. Handling response is amazing. Feedback rejection is amazing. The thing looks amazing [and it's available in really cool colors].

The PR35 (Heil) and PM9 (Miktek) are not far behind, but the M81 has a very crisp sizzle to it that is just so inviting it makes you want to sing and sing and sing.

In the same way a new guitar can inspire a guitar player to want to play more, this mic has re-ignited my flame to want to sing more.