The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 06-03-2018, 04:20 PM
Br1ck Br1ck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 2,609
Default

I like the good old analogue Sans Amp products. My Trademark 60 amp has an XLR out that kills the amp speaker and has an emulation built in. I can use the amp's acusonics spring reverb tank. No subbing for a real reverb IMHO.
__________________
1980 Martin M 36
1970 Guild D 35
1965 Epiphone Texan
2014 Martin 00 15 12 fret custom
Pono OP 30 D parlor
Pono OP12-30
Pono MT uke
Goldtone Paul Beard squareneck resophonic
Fluke tenor ukulele
Boatload of home rolled telecasters

"Shut up and play your guitar" Frank Zappa
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-04-2018, 08:17 PM
Davis Webb Davis Webb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,953
Default

Can I ask why anyone uses a DI?

I just plug mine into my effects pedal and into the mix board or PA input. Works fine.

What am I missing>?

I thought DI is just for acoustic guitar signals....like a pre amp.

For that matter I dont use a DI for my acoustic either.

Why DI at all?
__________________
Larrivee, Gibson, Ovation, Strat, Tele
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-04-2018, 08:37 PM
Paleolith54 Paleolith54 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davis Webb View Post
Can I ask why anyone uses a DI?

I just plug mine into my effects pedal and into the mix board or PA input. Works fine.

What am I missing>?

I thought DI is just for acoustic guitar signals....like a pre amp.

For that matter I dont use a DI for my acoustic either.

Why DI at all?
Here's the basic answer, from Whirlwind:

A “DI” serves several basic functions:

* It converts a high impedance signal to a low impedance signal (although it will also accept a low impedance signal from a preamp, keyboard, active pickup or other electronic device).

* It converts an unbalanced signal to balanced.

* It reduces a strong instrument or line level signal (and sometimes even speaker level signal) to a mic level signal suitable for connection to the mic input of a mixing console.

* It isolates electronic equipment on stage from the mixing console, which can help eliminate interference and noise caused by electrical interaction or ground loops. It also blocks phantom power sent from the mixer so it cannot interact with the the device connected to the DI's input.

There are two types of Direct Boxes, passive and active.


More detail at http://whirlwindusa.com/support/tech...-di-spensible/.

Personally, I've never needed one either, BUT I only plug mics into the mic input of my board. My acoustic has an on-board pre-amp that handles signal strength, impedance, etc so I go straight into one of the 1/4" balanced inputs and am good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-05-2018, 03:59 AM
Davis Webb Davis Webb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,953
Default

Thanks!

Does this affect sound quality or does it just match volumes?
__________________
Larrivee, Gibson, Ovation, Strat, Tele
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-05-2018, 07:08 AM
Paleolith54 Paleolith54 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davis Webb View Post
Thanks!

Does this affect sound quality or does it just match volumes?
I could quickly get out of my depth here, but the basic answer is quality in that a DI basically takes a signal and gets it ready to go into the Mic input on a mixer. Think of it as a device that eliminates common problems in this area (impedance mismatch, running a line-level signal into a Mic-level input, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-06-2018, 01:41 PM
maxtheaxe maxtheaxe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N. Oregon Coast
Posts: 763
Default

One famous instance of this is the guitar tone on the really amped up version of the Beatles 'Revolution'. Lennon just plugged his Epi Casino direct into the board/channel preamp and had them dime it.

The engineers absolutely hated him for it but the tone is epic...iconic, even.
__________________
Larrivee OM-40R
Larrivee L-10 Custom
Larrivee DV-10K
Larrivee L-03
Taylor 412K ('96)
Yamaha LL16-12
Breedlove Studio N250cre
PRS 'Studio' (10-top)
Rickenbacker 660-12 Mapleglo ('06)
Fender USA Deluxe Strat
Fender USA Roadhouse Strat
Fender Nashville Tele
Ibanez Artist AR 420
Kelsey Custom Hardtail Strat
Fender MIM P-Bass
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-13-2018, 12:02 PM
Hurricane Ramon Hurricane Ramon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Springs Area So. Cal.
Posts: 474
Thumbs up Electric Guitar Straight Into P.A.



I plug my T.C. Helicon Voice Live 3 X MFX floor unit and can go into the P.A. and sound great just like that .
I have tube amps and SS amps too I use with the T.C. Helicon Voice Live 3 X too .



EZ :

HR
__________________
It started for me with Twinkle Twinkle Little Star in 54 on a Blues Harp and progressed ,
then life .....some death ....Evolving as I went like a small rock in a stream rounding
out as I went with the flow as I go through the white waters and waterfalls of life .
Life has always been interesting to me

Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-13-2018, 02:16 PM
Paleolith54 Paleolith54 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxtheaxe View Post
One famous instance of this is the guitar tone on the really amped up version of the Beatles 'Revolution'. Lennon just plugged his Epi Casino direct into the board/channel preamp and had them dime it.

The engineers absolutely hated him for it but the tone is epic...iconic, even.
Yeah, I believe he actually ran through two, in series, both dimed. The engineers, rightly, feared he would burn them both up and they'd all be sacked.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-14-2018, 08:43 AM
redir redir is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mountains of Virginia
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davis Webb View Post

I just plug mine into my effects pedal and into the mix board or PA input. Works fine.

What am I missing>?
A lot

Yes it works fine. It does indeed work. But it doesn't sound good
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=