The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-30-2019, 04:52 AM

Default Can i change my bridge with a different kind?

So im thinking about if i can replace my bridge. Im a beginner so i dont know that much about guitars. Please excuse me.

(THE BRIDGE ON MY GUITAR RIGHT NOW)
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-8a...w?usp=drivesdk

(THE BRIDGE IM PLANNING TO GET)
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1--f...w?usp=drivesdk

My current bridge is made out of Maple and the replacement is made out of rosewood. Would this affect my guitar in some way?

If ever my bridge lifts in the future and im going to get it fixed, can i change it to a different kind if an identical replacement part is unavailable? Thanks in advance.

Ps: if there's a name to these bridges kindly specify their kind/name thanks.

Last edited by pderek501; 03-30-2019 at 04:57 AM. Reason: Incorrect format
Old 03-30-2019, 04:56 AM
Charter Member

No photos visible, and your links require a google sign-in.

Brook ‘Lamorna’ OM (European Spruce/EIR) (2019)
Lowden F-23 (Red Cedar/Claro Walnut) (2017)
Martin D-18 (2012)
Martin HD-28V (2010)
Fender Standard Strat (2017-MIM)
Old 03-30-2019, 04:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee1404 View Post
No photos visible, and your links require a google sign-in.
Seems like a good way to get an email list.
Old 03-30-2019, 05:10 AM
Charter Member

Hi,
I was able to see the pictures..... The answer is No.
Old 03-30-2019, 05:18 AM
Charter Member

'Different kind'? I assume you mean different material, in your case maple to rosewood. Yes.

If 'different kind' means style/shape, no.

You could have a luthier to make one for you out of rosewood that fits the footprint of the original bridge.

But the replacement you pictured is not the same footprint, so it would look terrible if used.

Last edited by dave42; 03-30-2019 at 05:28 AM.
Old 03-30-2019, 05:38 AM