The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-18-2019, 06:33 AM
jonfields45 jonfields45 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 2,487
Default Martin LX1 Top Radius Question - None?

I had only CF guitars until a week ago when I received an LX1 from MF (my wife is starting to book more travel and even getting a small CF guitar on an airplane is a hassle -- the LX1 is disposable in comparison). It has sat in my basement (dehumidified to 50% RH) for the last week and the top appears absolutely flat. Does Martin make that model with no top radius?

BTW, it is impressive for what it can do for its size and I presume the medium strings give it the big edge over the Baby Taylor volume and tone wise.

Thanks!
Jon
__________________
Jon Fields

RainSong CH-PA1100NS, Mi-Si Trio (Baggs Element), Elixir PB 10s, TKL 8975 Case & Access 3/4 Stage 1 gig bag, set up to cover electric guitar riffs
RainSong CO-PA1100NS, Schatten Passive HFN, Elixir 80/20 Polyweb 12s, TKL 8975 Case
Soundcraft Notepad-12FX into one QSC CP8 (21 lbs) high/behind
Martin LX1, Elixir PB 13s, Access 1/2 Stage 1 gig bag

www.justsoduo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2019, 06:55 AM
Neil K Walk Neil K Walk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SWPA
Posts: 5,953
Default

IIRC Martin does indeed not put a radius their tops - at least that's what I recall hearing the guide say when I took the Nazareth factory tour in October 2016.
__________________
~ Neil

2013 OLF MJ (DIY build, western red cedar, Honduran mahogany)
2012 McKnight McUkulele
2009 Martin D-16GT
2006 Larrivee OM-03R
1998 Fender American Standard Stratocaster (Natural ash)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2019, 08:51 AM
Rodger Knox's Avatar
Rodger Knox Rodger Knox is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,371
Default

Whether it is built in or not, the string pull should induce a slight doming of the top.
__________________
Rodger Knox, PE
'56 Gibson J-50
et al
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2019, 08:59 AM
jonfields45 jonfields45 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 2,487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Knox View Post
Whether it is built in or not, the string pull should induce a slight doming of the top.
Since I bought this guitar as something that I don't care if it is cracked or abused by an airline, this is really just an academic question. There is a slight bulge behind the bridge but it looks like it was manufactured with no radius. The Martin Guitar Forum has some posts saying a top radius of about 50 feet is the Martin standard (does not make it true...).

Another interesting tidbit, the bridge plate is a triangle (goes all the way into the X-corner) of the same mahogany photo HPL as the back and sides. The bridge pin drilling looks perfect on the inside. At its price point I can't imagine they take the trouble to put something in the guitar while drilling. Maybe this is another aspect of HPL. When drilled from the "glue" side there is no splintering.
__________________
Jon Fields

RainSong CH-PA1100NS, Mi-Si Trio (Baggs Element), Elixir PB 10s, TKL 8975 Case & Access 3/4 Stage 1 gig bag, set up to cover electric guitar riffs
RainSong CO-PA1100NS, Schatten Passive HFN, Elixir 80/20 Polyweb 12s, TKL 8975 Case
Soundcraft Notepad-12FX into one QSC CP8 (21 lbs) high/behind
Martin LX1, Elixir PB 13s, Access 1/2 Stage 1 gig bag

www.justsoduo.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2019, 09:23 AM
JonWint JonWint is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: 1 hr from Nazareth
Posts: 393
Default

Martin DOES radius tops and backs. The braces are radiused. The rim is sanded on dished sanders to accommodate the radiused top and back.

Since the LX1 has a wood top, I assume it is built the same as all the other wood-top models.

That tour guide must have been from the accounting dept.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2019, 10:01 AM
Ben-Had Ben-Had is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Creedmoor, NC
Posts: 522
Default Tops

With all the replica models they are building it is hard to keep track of what the radius might be. Last I knew they used a 52' radius on the tops of their standard models.
__________________
Tim B
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2019, 10:14 AM
redir redir is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mountains of Virginia
Posts: 4,501
Default

They do radius the top all be it a very shallow one. It's one of the reasons you get that bass boomyness imho. But like Roger said typically you are going to have some string pull bellying anyway. Unless it's really over braced perhaps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=