The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 08-24-2019, 09:32 PM

Default Has anyone had a top repaired using the Thompson Belly repair tool from Stew Mac?

https://www.stewmac.com/How-To/Tool_...cer_Video.html
Old 08-25-2019, 03:05 AM

I made my own tool, which is very similar to the StewMac one, and have had modest success with it.
Old 08-25-2019, 09:15 AM

I've never done the repair but have heard several and the tone was significantly affected.

EDIT: I apologize for this comment. In my haste another product came to mind, the Bridge Doctor, not the TJ Thompson Belly Reducer, with which I have no experience.

Last edited by runamuck; 08-26-2019 at 04:45 PM.
Old 08-25-2019, 10:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by runamuck View Post
I've never done the repair but have heard several and the tone was significantly affected.
Simply bending the wood back to shape wouldn't change tone. There must have been something else done to the guitars you heard.
Old 08-25-2019, 03:45 PM

I used one on a 1976 HD-28 a few weeks ago. It performed as advertised.I followed the instruction to the letter. There was no tone change. This guitar is also receiving a neck reset to solve the rest of its poor bracing problem. As the story goes they "over scalloped" 76 HD`s, hence the extreme belly bulge they develope.

Regards,

Jim
Old 08-25-2019, 07:17 PM

Quote:
How so? Detail would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 08-25-2019, 07:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimki567 View Post
I used one on a 1976 HD-28 a few weeks ago. It performed as advertised.I followed the instruction to the letter. There was no tone change. This guitar is also receiving a neck reset to solve the rest of its poor bracing problem. As the story goes they "over scalloped" 76 HD`s, hence the extreme belly bulge they develope.

Regards,

Jim