The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-12-2016, 03:43 AM

Default Get More Sustain Out of An Acoustic?

Hello All,

My name is Matt and I am an amateur builder. I have made a few acoustic guitars which you can check out at my site:

www.customguitarbuilding.com

The latest guitar I made has plenty of warm bass resonance and volume due to forward shifted, scalloped bracing, and is very light overall because I used Spanish Cedar for the neck. However, it lacks the sustain of my cheapy smaller bodied Vintage V300. That guitar is much heavier and smaller though. You can see and hear the guitar here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCcO...&nohtml5=False

I wonder if there is a trade off between having an extremely responsive top where the energy quickly dissipates and the sustain.

Just want those plucked notes to last longer on the next build without losing volume and warmth.

Any thoughts appreciated

Matt
Old 04-12-2016, 06:20 AM
Charter Member

Matt,

I cannot comment from a builder's perspective, but I've worked in vibration analysis/measurement/damping engineering on and off for several decades so I can inject some foundational thoughts on sustain.

Your amount of sustain is the product of only two things:

The first is simply how much energy is put into the vibrating member in the first place. This will simply create more amplitude (volume) at the beginning. Another way to think of it is to think of it as volume - if you start louder, it will take longer for the volume to quiet down.

So, you want to get as much energy INPUT to the top first. The best way to do this is with higher string tension from longer strings and heavier gauges. This will require/translate stronger picking/strumming into more amplitude.