The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-08-2013, 09:13 PM

Default Should a Beginner have an Acoustic and an Electric guitar?

Hey guys. So I'm not really a beginner. I got a Taylor 114 for my birthday about 4 months ago and I have become quite comfortable on it. I am able to play open chords and barre chords very smoothly to basically any song, and I'm beginning to practice finger picking now. I have been thinking about picking up an electric to just blow off some steam and work on some soloing and stuff. Would it be silly for a beginner guitar player to have a pretty decent acoustic guitar and a decent electric. After all, I just started playing 5 months ago. Do I need both? I'm I about to make an impulse buy?
Thanks

- Scott
Old 07-08-2013, 09:19 PM

Electrics are awesome. Dont make an impulese buy though, do some research first.
Old 07-08-2013, 09:23 PM
Guest316

You don't need both, but why not? I've played nothing but acoustic (for the most part) for 42 years, so the occasional opportunity that presents itself to play an electric leaves me confused and lost lol - -
Quote:
"It has six strings, and a set of tuners - but what are the knobs for and why does it buzz so much when I strum it hard?"
Old 07-08-2013, 09:30 PM

If you gain enjoyment from doing so, can afford to do so, and are able to prioritize it in life appropriately then why not?! Obviously, I have no idea what your circumstances are, but the way I see it the money could be spent in much worse ways and the time could be wasted on much worse things (video games, bar hoping, movies, drugs, etc.)YMMV

"Life has no limit, if you're not afraid to get in it"-Mason Jennings
Old 07-08-2013, 10:13 PM