The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 12-24-2003, 10:32 PM

Default Anyone here give lessons?

...and how did you learn how to teach?

My buddy who owns a music store is losing the guy who gives lessons. He asked me if I was interested in taking his place. The current teacher is not leaving until next fall so I would have time to learn some technique. He apparently thinks I am capable and it is pretty good cash. I am basically self taught and don't know if I could. If anyone could give me some pointers I would greatly appreciate it.

Ron

Pierre Teilhard de Chardin
Old 12-24-2003, 10:59 PM

I have been teaching martial arts (Tai Chi Chuan) professionally for 15 years and I teach guitar very informally. Teaching (anything) makes one really develop their craft more than just doing a hobby as a personal endeavor. Students have a unique way of putting teachers on the spot. Anyways.....

Things always to remember:
1. Patience patience patience - This is something you will really need to develop if you are an impatient person. People learn at different paces, so a teacher has to be a trainer, motivator, and coach. A trainer puts one thru technical aspects of the study, a motivator to keep the "drive" going and a coach to guide the student properly.

2. Always remember what it was like to be a beginner. We tend to forget what comes easy to us. If you do forget, try to play the guitar backwards (if you are right handed, play w/ your left)...that is how a beginner feels.

3. A teacher doesn't really "teach". A teacher just facilitates the learning process. How can you facilitate your explanation to a beginner?

4. Set attainable goals for the student. Listen to what they are looking for and give the student the best approach you can come up with.

5. Something Mapletrees said...be sure you are not a human TABLATURE dispenser.