The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-20-2018, 07:09 AM

Default How to get better? Fingerpicking Style

I think everyone goes through a point where they are stuck on learning. I started playing guitar to learn songs I enjoyed listening to. After a while I learned most of the songs I wanted to play. I picked up reading musical notes to learn a little on that. What else would you recommend I can do or anything for that matter to improve my guitar ability. I want to improve but I don't know where to begin. Should I read books, DVDs, and or youtube? Maybe music theory? I want to learn the guitar more than anything (fingerpicking) at this point I just feel stuck...any advice or criticism is welcomed thank you everyone.
Old 09-20-2018, 07:20 AM

All of that will help but getting a teacher is the best way if you havent been playing fingerstyle. Theres a different answer if you have been and youre burnt.
Old 09-20-2018, 07:21 AM
Charter Member

I have been down the same road. After playing off an on for a long time I decided I wanted to learn to finger pick. Thanks to advice here on the AGF I got started finger picking with Mark Hanson's book and a Toby Walker video (both were called introduction to finger picking or something like that). After 6 months or so I could play some basic tunes but felt stuck where I was, so I looked for a local teacher on lessons.com.

I've been with him for a year now and it really helps. The commitment of time and money for the lessons isn't huge but is enough to keep me focused and practicing every day. I've built up a little repertoire of folk and blues tunes, and have some basic skills that are helping me learn new songs.

This is rewarding process, but a long, slow one, at least for me. I had the idea I would be playing the melody to a whole bunch of Beatles tunes in a year or so and it hasn't happened that fast

Best of luck to you!