The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-29-2020, 04:52 PM

Default Nut and string width

Is it easier to form chords that require three fingers together on adjacent strings on guitars with a 1 3/4 in nut?

I have 1 11/16 on mine.

I just started learning and it's very difficult to form some chords.

I noticed the instructor in a video seemed to have a bit more room between strings.

Thanks all.

Steve
Old 10-29-2020, 05:06 PM

Hiya Deals. Welcome to the AGF! I think some first position chords are easier with a 1 3/4" nut. All of my guitars have them, or even wider, but I play mostly fingerstyle, and it's even more important for that. The best I can tell you is try to go play some guitars with a wider nut and see how it feels.

As you progress, your preferences will become more refined with just about everything guitar related. If you can, I'd recommend staying with the one you have for a while until you get a better idea of what you want. And that can take a while. Not just nut spacing, but body size/shape, woods, neck shape, string spacing, etc. Most of us upgrade (some more regularly than others), but the chances on landing on a keeper will be much higher once you figure out your preferences.

You may also want to visit a tech and have him/her do a setup on your guitar. If your nut slots are too high, it can make chording 1st position much harder. I'm surprised by how many guitars leave the factory with nut slots that need to be filed down a little. It's quite possible your issue is related to the nut slots being too high and not the nut width.

Hope this helps.
Old 10-29-2020, 05:09 PM

A wider nut width made a big difference for me when I was first learning some years ago.

An experience guitar player sold me a guitar with a 1 3/4 nut and a wider bridge width. Made playing a LOT easier.