The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-26-2020, 05:37 AM

Default Why learn the pentatonic scale?

I've been playing for a couple years now and I'm pretty decent at copying songs but I don't know what I'm playing or why. I want to start to actually learn how to play and get serious with my playing. So far I've been self taught and now I'm stuck. Ive taken myself as for as I can go on my own. I plan on starting lessons soon, but for now I've started learning scales. Whats the reason for learning the pentatonic scales and how is it going to help my playing? Also I'm open to any other tips or advise to help my progress. Thanks

Taylor GS Mini
Martin 000-15M
Old 10-26-2020, 06:16 AM

There are two kinds of pentatonic scale in common use: Major pentatonic and minor pentatonic.

Major pentatonic = 1 2 3 5 6 of a major scale, eg, C D E G A from C major.

Minor pentatonic = 1 3 4 5 7 of a minor scale, e.g., C Eb F G Bb from C minor.

The minor pentatonic is the only scale commonly learned by beginner rock guitarists - often before they learn anything else! - because it's the basis of blues, meaning they can solo to their heart's content and sound good without understanding anything they're doing. (When they want to understand, or to sound more musically interesting, then they find they have to go back to the kinds of things you already know. Not just complete 7-note scales, but actually playing songs... )

I'm not knocking the scale itself! A lot of classic rock riffs are minor pentatonic. The melody of Gershwin's Summertime is all minor pentatonic apart from one note (last note of second line).