The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-08-2011, 03:49 PM

Default Can I learn some piano as well as the acoustic guitar?

I was just wondering whether anyone has any thoughts on whether it is possible to try to learn some piano at the same time as guitar. I've played guitar for a number of years but never progressed as quickly as I have in the last couple of months since I took it up seriously again at Christmas. Now I would like to learn a little piano but wonder if this would impede my progress on the guitar.

I'd like to ask whether it would do any harm to learn some piano chords etc but could it actually benefit my guitar playing? I am self-taught on guitar and would be looking at teaching myself piano. I expect the piano would help me with music theory and it might encourage me to learn to read music but I wonder whether it would be of any benefit to my guitar technique? Thanks.
Old 04-08-2011, 05:49 PM
PIT74827

Many years on guitar, some on keyboard, and I swear I'd be a lot further along on both if I hadn't bothered with each. But, truth be told, it was the black dog of theory that killed the muse in me and left me pining in color-starved alleys and dens of dark silent sadness.
Old 04-08-2011, 06:11 PM

I play guitar, piano, and bass.
However, I played guitar for 25 years before learning piano, and I had to pretty much set the guitar aside for about a year, and only occasionally play it in order to progress to any great degree on piano. Don't regret it. i love the piano. But after two years on piano I've just recently gone "back to the woodshed" with the guitar.
Right now, i'm learning bass(been playing about a year). If I had set aside guitar and piano, and focused more on bass, I'd be a lot further along. After a year on bass, i consider myself still a rank beginner. Nowhere near where i was on piano after a year.