The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-11-2021, 01:39 AM

Default Newbie Advice: RME Babyface Pro FS

Hi all,

I’m just getting into recording and I have settled on buying the Babyface Pro and I need some advice.

I will be recording guitar (mainly acoustic) and vocals. I want to record high quality demos to take to a producer. The gear I currently have is a Martin D18, a Rode NT1 mic and Beyerdynamic DT770 250 ohm headphones.

My questions:
1. Will I need a headphone amp for headphones with 250 ohms? Should I be considering headphones with less ohms for recording with the BFP?
2. Is anyone using the BFP for mixing in addition to recording?
3. I want to buy quality open back headphones for mixing (I can’t use monitors) and I am considering the Focal Clear headphones. Does anyone have experience mixing with these headphone and the BFP?

Any advice about this audio interface combined with other gear you are using is more than welcome.

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-11-2021, 04:23 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by parasko View Post
1. Will I need a headphone amp for headphones with 250 ohms? Should I be considering headphones with less ohms for recording with the BFP?
Unless the headphone amp in the BFP is underpowered, you should be fine with those headphones. But since they'll be used for tracking, I'd suggest getting the 80 ohm set and then you'll have plenty of volume from the BFP. I own the 80 ohm version and they're an excellent pair of tracking headphones.

Quote:
So far as I know, alohachris is the only person here using the BFP. Hopefully he'll see your post and weigh in.

Quote:
3. I want to buy quality open back headphones for mixing (I can’t use monitors) and I am considering the Focal Clear headphones. Does anyone have experience mixing with these headphone and the BFP?