The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-10-2021, 01:44 PM

Default Taylor 314ce and my old Yamaha

Hello all,

I am a beginner guitarist that has only been playing for about 18 months now. Right before the pandemic started last year, I went to my local Guitar Center and bought a new Yamaha FG800 and have been playing it as my only guitar until recently. I enjoyed and still enjoy it greatly; more on that shortly.

A few months ago, I decided it was time to upgrade. I walked into GC again and started playing around on any and all guitars I could. I fell in love with their demo 314ce v-clasS. I liked some others, but I loved the way the 314 felt and played and sounded (in that perfect room they have there for the acoustics)

I however ended up ordering a New one from Sweetwater a few weeks ago to treat myself for my birthday. It arrived in a timely manner and looks and feels great to play, just as the demo ones did at GC.

After numerous playing sessions though, I can't ignore my true thoughts: my beaten up FG800 sounds "better". And not because it's louder (which it is because it's a Dreadnought vs a Grand Auditorium) but the 314ce sounds a bit dull and "muddy" compared to the big booming old Yamaha. For instance, a normal Am, F, C, G chord progression sounds more pleasant and defined on the Yamaha than it does on my 314.

I'm not sure if the allure of how the guitar looks is what made me love it at Guitar Center, or if I maybe got a bad guitar, or what. Maybe it's because the Yamaha is "broken in" and the Taylor isn't? But $200 vs $2000, to say the least, I'm a bit surprised.

Has anyone themselves had or know anyone with a similar situation as this with the new Taylors?
Old 11-10-2021, 01:55 PM
Charter Member