The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-12-2016, 07:22 AM

Default First acoustic build

I've been building electrics for about 5 years now, but what initially got me started building was the desire to build my own acoustic. I never made the jump, though, because of the specialized tooling, jigs, etc.

Well, over the past few years, I've acquired quite a few tools, and I've got some friends who've built acoustics, so I've really got everything I need at my disposal now. On the OLF, Joel Michaud was gracious enough to offer up a couple of build kits for anyone wanting to take the plunge into building acoustics. I was fortunate enough be the recipient of one of these kits, so now I'm apparently going to be building myself an acoustic .

As you can see, he didn't cheap out on the kit

I've got 3 tops (2 sitka, 1 redwood), 2 side sets, 2 completed bridges, bridge blanks, 2 slotted fretboards, fretboard blank, kerfed lining, B/W/B purfling, brace stock, 2 mahogany neck blanks, pao ferro binding, Grover tuners, and other bits and pieces I'm not quite sure what to do with yet. Oh, and he's also sending me a mold for an OM.

So here's the plan:

Slotted headstock OM
Black walnut b/s
Sitka top
Pao ferro binding
B/W/B purfling
Pao ferro fretboard
I'll probably order dyed bone bridge pins from Bob Colosi.

Oh, and Hesh from Ann Arbor Guitars is also sending me fret wire and a couple bone nut and saddle blanks.

This is going to be an awesome project, though I do have 6 electrics to get out this year while also building shutters and doing 2 bathroom remodels for the wife. That's alright. Sleep is overrated...
Old 05-12-2016, 07:38 AM
Charter Member

That's really exciting Roger. Can't wait to see this come together.
Old 05-12-2016, 04:13 PM