The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-25-2013, 07:44 PM

Default "Forgotten" how to strum?

I've been playing off and on for about 25 years. I've been playing acoustic with a trio for about two years now. A disturbing trend I'm noticing in my playing is, I sometimes have a hard time strumming fast or complex patterns.

I tend to do a lot of single note lead work so I think I am spending way more practice time picking from the wrist and using economy of motion at the hand. I suspect over the years I've lost muscle memory in the arm and wrist for aggressive strumming techniques. I notice it most during fast endurance strumming like "Second Hand News" by Fleetwood Mac, or fast strumming with a rhythmic pattern like the beginning of "Pinball Wizard."

I'm 42 and also have occasional bouts of carpal tunnel and arthritis. I half-suspect maybe the nerves aren't firing as fast anymore in my arms, but it is distressing to not be able to make your hands do what your brain is telling them.

Anybody else had this experience? I'm hoping if I spend a lot of time practicing strumming patterns like a beginner maybe I can regain skill in that area.
Old 07-25-2013, 10:58 PM

having suffered from carpel tunnel myself and had the corrective surgeries I can agree that the nerves may not be firing as fast. It was quite disturbing to me to have the tests done that actually showed the slowing down of the nerve speed. BUT.... by starting at the begininng and go ponderously slow I managed to regain a good portion of what was lost. So I would encourage you to just take it as slow as you need as frustrating as that probably will be and just rebuild the speed and accuracy as much as you can. And DON'T give up. Its in there it just may take a bit to bring it back out.
Old 07-26-2013, 01:02 PM