The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-25-2013, 06:53 PM

Default Reading Standard Notation

SO I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN a tablature and ear guy. I have played 80s rock in the 1980s and then studied with a modal/chromatic blues genius dude in the late 90s. All of this was reliant on chord charts, tab, and the old ear holes.

But I just started studying bebop with a guy who hand writes everything in standard notation. I know the names of the notes, but translating them onto the fretboard ... well, when I try to do it, it is slow and sloppy. Fortunately my wife has a degree in music education, and I will have her play the notes when I get stuck, match the pitch on guitar and then transcribe the whole thing to tab.

I figure that this will help me make the transition from tab to notation. But so far it is mostly just annoying my wife.

Anyone got any killer tips for making the transition smoothly?

Thanks in advance for any and all tips.
Old 04-25-2013, 07:35 PM

Reading standard notation is all about knowing the fretboard (I don't), and practice. The more you read, the easier it gets.

It's a little dry, but William Leavitt's "Reading Studies for Guitar" is pretty nice for learning to translate standard notation into fretboard work.
Old 04-25-2013, 08:46 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAMFIST View Post
Stick with standard tuning.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 04-26-2013, 03:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAMFIST View Post
SO I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN a tablature and ear guy. I have played 80s rock in the 1980s and then studied with a modal/chromatic blues genius dude in the late 90s. All of this was reliant on chord charts, tab, and the old ear holes.