The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 09-22-2021, 07:54 PM
Charter Member

Default Dazzo Pickup Review

Old 09-22-2021, 08:22 PM
Charter Member

Meh. Well, it's no Cole Clark but then again what is, right?

I know a few people rave about them but I'm not hearing anything special.

As always, a great review though. Definitely sounded better through the Sun Audio.
Old 09-22-2021, 08:42 PM

Nice Arron, great to see Dazzo and Sunnaudio getting some more press! I've been gigging that combo for a few months now and I'm very happy with it. Mine is in an Eastman e20-om and works really well.

If I may, a few words about the installation. I contacted Dazzo about which one they recommended (a 70 in my case). I wanted to add the mic, so I contacted Sunny at sunnaudio, as I already had an MS-2. He got the pickup from Dazzo and soldered the end pin with the mic in stereo (T/R/S) for me. It works great! Stereo cable into the MS-2 and I've got the pickup on one channel and the mic on the other. Plug in a regular guitar cable and I've got just the Dazzo to whatever I plug it into. I did the installation myself. I used the epoxy glue they recommend. There are 2 transducers that go under the bridge and I used the bridge pins as a guide, as directed on the web site. Couldn't have been easier. The hard part, keeping in mind the end pin was already predrilled from the Eastman factory, was getting the mic in the right position before I stuck it down. I could have done it in 15 minutes, but I took 45 because I'm like that.

I'm sure Teddy could have put it in better than I did, but considering I'd have had to ship my guitar across the country and back, it just didn't make sense, and I clearly didn't do all that bad of a job installing it because it sounds great!