The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-26-2014, 11:44 AM

Default What kind of VST instrument would you use for this sound?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=isIABK-0ohQ

or here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sE_TKkNi9E8

I'm looking for that really simple kind of fuzzy-sounding piano-like synth? They're pretty similar and it sounds like it should be easy to figure it out but I can't seem to recreate this sound with any of the synth vsts I've downloaded (and I've downloaded A LOT, with thousands of presets). I'm a noob at this kind of stuff and I've tried playing around with my plugins and still can't figure anything out. Anyone have any suggestions for this?
Old 09-26-2014, 06:20 PM

It's not clear to me which sound you're trying to duplicate. Try posting specific places, minutes and seconds, in each of those tunes as an example.
Old 09-27-2014, 12:46 PM

I am with runamuck here but from what I am hearing sounds like your basic organ and electric piano treated with copious amounts of tweaked delay perhaps some chorus flange. So I would look at those time based fx with the VSTi's you already have.
Old 09-27-2014, 01:15 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud View Post
I am with runamuck here but from what I am hearing sounds like your basic organ and electric piano treated with copious amounts of tweaked delay perhaps some chorus flange. So I would look at those time based fx with the VSTi's you already have.
Yes my guess would be piano ( maybe even perhaps run through something like a Leslie cab). and perhaps yes chorus and my first thought was some mild flanging.

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1

Mobile MBP M1 Pro , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Sonoma 14.4