The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 07-07-2020, 03:12 PM

Default A Custom Build & An Introduction

Hello AGF! It’s quite a pleasure to be here after many years of drooling over the custom builds of many luthiers I admire. Allow me to introduce myself:
My name is Benjamin Liggett, and I’m a luthier from Tulsa, Oklahoma. After attending Roberto-Venn school of luthiery in 2012, I returned to my hometown of Tulsa and immediately began working as a luthier at Bishline Banjos, alongside luthier Rob Bishline. During that time I built several guitars under my own brand Liggett Guitars, some electric and some acoustic. I got free reign of their shop, and got to hone my inlay skills, doing custom inlay for many Bishline customers and other luthiers alike. I estimate that I got to carve about 1000 banjo necks while at Bishline. What a great opportunity! Not to mention finish work, fretwork, sanding, and all other aspects of luthiery.

Over the last couple years I’ve been preparing my workshop in anticipation of going full time, and that time has come!
I now have a fully operational workshop with all the woodworking tools and timbers I’ve been amassing while working at bishline. Sanders, saws, storage racks, chisels and even a spray booth.

While at RV I did lots of research about the somogyi school of building with double sides, so the top and back could be braced lighter due to the stiffer outer frame. Last year I set out to build such a guitar for myself and the result of that was “The Crane”, a walnut OM, with a Sitka spruce top.