The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 01-08-2008, 01:18 PM

Default kentucky mandolin

I'm picking up a used kentucky km 380s mandolin and wondering if anyone has any experience with one that might give a small review. They're suppose to be all solid wood construction and affordable for a beginner. I think I got a pretty good deal. We'll see. It's not in hand yet. Tia.
Martin dm 112
Carvin h2 holdsworth

Our task must be to free ourselves by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature and it's beauty.
Albert Einstein
Old 01-08-2008, 01:30 PM
happiness

I've no experience of these particular mandolins, but they do have a good reputation, as you say, as a decent, affordable starter. Why not visit www.mandolincafe.com and ask the question there?

Fliss
Old 01-08-2008, 03:54 PM
Charter Member

Kentuckys can be fairly nice mandolins. They're somewhat variable, however, and aren't necessarily set up optimally from the source. I'd recommend taking it to an instrument tech and getting the setup checked. The most likely issue is a high nut. If the action at the nut is high, it's a bear to play at the lower frets. It's very simple for someone who knows what they're doing to take a nut file and deepen the grooves a bit to solve the problem. The bridge might need adjustment as well, but because that's easier to do, it's more likely to have been done already by the dealer. If this is a mail order item, there's a fair chance that neither bridge nor nut have been adjusted properly. With a good setup, a Kentucky can be a very nice playing instrument with a decent sound.